Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Journal of ASPR - Fall 2013 - A Letter from the Executive Director
Share |

A Letter from the Executive Director

By Jennifer Metivier, MS, FASPR, ASPR Executive Director

Jen Metivier, DASPRIt was great to see so many of you in Tucson at the 2013 ASPR Annual Conference in August! There were approximately 380 attendees and more than 80 exhibiting organizations this year. The Education Committee did a fantastic job once again in planning and implementing educational sessions for both new and experienced physician recruiters. A recap of the conference is included in this issue of JASPR as well as in the conference section of our website. Don’t forget to mark your calendars for the 2014 ASPR Annual Conference, which will be held August 23-27 at the Hyatt Regency Minneapolis.

On behalf of the ASPR Board of Directors, I’d like to thank the Education Committee co-chairs, Joelle Hennesey, FASPR, and Robin Schiffer, FASPR, as well as the entire Education Committee and staff of ASPR for orchestrating an incredible conference! The teamwork among this amazing group of people was greatly appreciated by all who attended the conference. I would also like to express our gratitude to our conference sponsors and exhibitors, for without their support we could not have orchestrated such a successful event. Thank you!

The ASPR Board of Directors was pleased to present this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award to Scott Lindblom, FASPR, Dean Clinic, Madison, WI, at the annual conference. Scott was honored with a plaque and a photo montage for his distinguished career and significant contributions made to the field of in-house physician recruitment. Scott’s acceptance speech can be found in this issue of JASPR. The board was also pleased to present this year’s Volunteer of the Year Award to Kate Rader, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX. Both of these members have volunteered and dedicated a great deal of time and hard work to ASPR over the years. Congratulations to both Scott and Kate!

Congratulations are also in order to our new committee chairs who assumed their roles at the ASPR Annual Business Meeting. Caroline Steffen, AASPR, DuPage Medical Group, Downers Grove, IL, has assumed the co-chair position for the Membership Committee. Caroline is replacing Maddie Wagner, FASPR, Reading Health System, Reading, PA. Maddie is moving into a new role with ASPR. We also welcome Jennifer Barber, FASPR, OSF Healthcare System, Peoria, IL, as the new co-chair for the Education Committee. Jennifer is taking over for outgoing co-chair Joelle Hennesey, FASPR, to work with the Education Committee in planning the 2014 and 2015 annual conferences.

As a reminder, beginning in 2015, the ASPR Annual Conference will be held in May. Please plan accordingly if you are on a July 1-June 30 budget cycle — as there will be two conferences during that fiscal year. We will celebrate ASPR’s 25th anniversary at the 2015 annual conference in Orlando, FL, where we’re planning some exciting celebratory events! Mark your calendars!

We are pleased to announce that the 2013 ASPR In-House Physician Recruitment Benchmarking Report is now available. We originally anticipated its release in August, but due to some extended time required to analyze the new budget data collected this year, there were some unanticipated delays in finalizing the report. We appreciate your patience and hope that the report provides you with valuable data to assist you in evaluating your recruitment processes!

As always, I look forward to hearing any thoughts, suggestions, ideas, or comments from you!

Journal of ASPR - Fall 2013

© 2018 Association of Staff Physician Recruiters (ASPR). All rights reserved.
Per standard by the Payment Card Industry, ASPR has met the requirements of the Payment Card Industry-Data Security Standards
(PCI-DSS). To view our compliance certificate, click here. Credit card processing on this website is secure and processed by Plug'N
Pay, which meets credit card industry standards. When you are requested to enter your credit card information, you will be taken
to a secure page.

This website is optimized for Firefox and Chrome. If you have difficulties using this site, see complete browser details.