Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
2014 ASPR Annual Conference recap – Fall 2014

The 2014 ASPR Annual Conference, held in Minneapolis, Minn., was a great success! More than 400 attendees and over 100 exhibitors were present at this year’s conference. Thank you to all who attended and supported this event!

The conference kicked off with the ASPR Fellowship Programs. The Physician Recruitment 101, 201 and 301 modules were offered Saturday and Sunday prior to the conference. These modules, and subsequent exams, lead members to become certified as Fellows of the Association of Staff Physician Recruiters (FASPR).

David Horsager

David Horsager discussing one of the 8 pillars of great leaders: competence. He encouraged conference attendees to stay fresh, relevant and capable to remain competent and trustworthy.

Monday morning began with David Horsager, M.A., CSP who delivered his keynote, The Trust Edge: What Top Leaders Have and 8 Pillars to Build it Yourself. David discussed the importance of trust – “A lack of trust is your biggest expense,” he said. He shared humorous and heartfelt stories to help attendees with building and maintaining trust. He also shared the eight pillars great leaders have used to build trust: clarity, loyalty, character, competence, commitment, connection, contribution and consistency. Attendees left feeling inspired and ready to “wake up and be present.”

After a day filled with educational content, everyone headed to Seven for a fun-filled social event. Attendees enjoyed sushi, sliders, pasta and cocktails in the eclectic downtown setting. The rooftop bar was packed as everyone enjoyed perfect weather, catching up with old friends and making new ones.

Tuesday morning began with a variety of roundtable sessions, which provided an excellent way for attendees to network with colleagues while discussing issues that might not otherwise be addressed in the breakout sessions. Topics like: “Tools for Onboarding,” “Challenges of Rural Recruitment,” and “New to Recruiting? Bring Your Questions” gave participants plenty of fresh ideas to take back to their organizations.


ASPR member Heather Peffley, AASPR, discusses the challenges of building a physician recruitment department from scratch during Tuesday morning’s roundtable sessions.

Tuesday also included the ASPR Annual Business Meeting where Debbie Gleason, FASPR, President and Jennifer Metivier, FASPR, Executive Director, provided members with key highlights on programs and activities accomplished by the ASPR Board of Directors and Committees. Board members, committee co-chairs and committee members were recognized for their hard work and dedication.

The Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Miranda Grace, FASPR. Marci Jackson, FASPR and Shelley Tudor, FASPR were each honored with Outstanding Service Awards for their outstanding contributions to ASPR. Thirty-six newly certified Fellows were recognized for accomplishing the highest designation available within ASPR; 16 were recognized for becoming recertified as Fellows; and 11, who were missed in past years due to timing issues, were recognized. Last, but not least, 48 ASPR Corporate Contributors were recognized for the continued support they provide to our association.

Joe FlowerDuring his presentation, Joe Flower stressed the importance of thinking in revolutionary terms if we are to survive the changes in the healthcare industry.

The third and final day of the conference started with Joe Flower’s presentation - Where We Are Headed: Notes from the Future – The Physician in the Next Healthcare. Flower’s keynote shared an eye-opening account of the changes in healthcare over the past few decades and revealed how things like DRGs, HMOs and the ACA have impacted healthcare costs and delivery of care. He also exposed the $800 billion of medical waste per year. “If we change the way we pay for healthcare so we don’t pay for waste, waste will go away,” he said. He encouraged everyone to think in revolutionary terms - providing attendees with seven levers of change that are needed to drive down healthcare costs and eliminate waste.

The ASPR Chapters each held business meetings over the course of the annual conference. Academic Inhouse Recruiters (AIR), Onboarding and Retention (OAR), the Northwest Staff Physician Recruiters (NWSPR), the Southeast Physician Recruiters Association (SEPRA) and the Texas Association of Staff Physician Recruiters (TexASPR) all conducted fruitful meetings. The special interest group, Children’s Hospital In-House Recruiters Network (CHIRN), met during the conference as well.

Enormous thanks go out to the ASPR Education Committee Co-Chairs - Robin Schiffer, from MedCentral Health System (Mansfield, Ohio) and Jennifer Barber from OSF (Peoria, Ill.) - for orchestrating such an amazing conference! A huge thank you also goes out to the entire Education Committee including: Deborah Atkins, FASPR, Lauren Beckstrom, FASPR, Judy Brown, FASPR, Amy Burns, FASPR, Kamala Carlberg, DASPR, John Cerniglia, DASPR, Gina Coliano, Madalyn Dosch, Vicki Finnell, FASPR, Bridgett Gawlik, FASPR, Debbie Gleason, FASPR, Emily Glaccum, FASPR, Kathy Gresham, DASPR, Melanie Harkins, DASPR, Joelle Hennesey, FASPR, Marci Jackson, FASPR, Allen Kram, FASPR, Scott Manning, FASPR, Charlene Plotycia, AASPR, Carol Rash, AASPR, Melody Roccaforte and Angela Van Ginkel.

The teamwork of this amazing group of people is appreciated by all who attended the conference! Thank you!

Mark your calendars for the 2015 ASPR Annual Conference where we will be celebrating our 25th anniversary! It will be held May 16-20, 2015, Hyatt Regency Orlando, Orlando, Fla. We hope to see you there!

© 2018 Association of Staff Physician Recruiters (ASPR). All rights reserved.
Per standard by the Payment Card Industry, ASPR has met the requirements of the Payment Card Industry-Data Security Standards
(PCI-DSS). To view our compliance certificate, click here. Credit card processing on this website is secure and processed by Plug'N
Pay, which meets credit card industry standards. When you are requested to enter your credit card information, you will be taken
to a secure page.

This website is optimized for Firefox and Chrome. If you have difficulties using this site, see complete browser details.