Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
2012 ASPR Annual Conference Highlights

Download Conference Onsite Program

The 2012 ASPR Annual Conference in Los Angeles, CA was a great success! Approximately 380 attendees and more than 200 exhibitor representatives! Thank you to all who were able to attend and present!

The conference began with the ASPR Fellowship Program. The Physician Recruitment 101, 201, and 301 modules were offered on Saturday and Sunday. These modules and subsequent exams lead members to become certified as Fellows of the Association of Staff Physician Recruiters (FASPR). Many attendees took advantage of being in LA and attended two of the modules over the weekend.

Cy Wakeman at the 2012 ASPR Annual Conference
Keynote Presenter Cy Wakeman

Monday morning began with the keynote speaker, Cy Wakeman. Cy’s presentation was highly motivating and provided the ASPR Conference attendees with a number of ways to become better leaders by ditching the drama, restoring sanity to the workplace, and turning excuses into results. Her dynamic presentation style was a terrific way to start the educational component of the meeting.

The afternoon offered two breakout sessions and attendees were able to choose sessions from within three Mission imPossible themed Learning Tracks: "Marketing and Sourcing: Identify Your Target”, "Adding Value: Your Assignment if You Choose to Accept”, and "Healthcare Trends: Decoding the Future”. Topics ranged from hospital physician alignment models to the hiring of International Medical Graduates.

The informal roundtable sessions were an excellent way for our attendees to network with their colleagues while discussing topics that might not otherwise be addressed in the breakout sessions. Topics ranged from "how to reach out to the residency programs” to "direct mail marketing solutions”.

Academic Inhouse Recruiters (AIR), a Chapter of ASPR, sponsored a session Monday afternoon titled "Developing Community Networks — Strategies for Physician Manpower Planning” presented by Lisa Keane Anastos, Executive Vice President, Clinical Practice and Business Development at the University of Chicago Medicine.

David Houle and Jonathan Fleece
Keynote speakers David Houle (left) and Jonathan Fleece (right)

Tuesday began with a riveting keynote presentation delivered by healthcare futurists David Houle and Jonathan Fleece. It is clear from David and Jonathan that the future of health care is changing rapidly and regardless of who wins the White House in November, the Accountable Care Act will affect all of us.

Their presentation talked about how healthcare delivery is changing through technology and the focus will be on prevention vs. the treatment of diseases going forward. Electronic medical records, medical homes, value based purchasing and a team based approach to disease management are no longer theoretical. These are all in their genesis and will be the norms of tomorrow. Jonathan and David made it clear that in order for care to become more accountable and to show better outcomes, these buzz words will become today’s reality.

The remainder of Tuesday included the ASPR Annual Business Meeting where Scott Manning, FASPR, President and Jennifer Metivier, FASPR, Executive Director, provided key annual highlights on programs and activities accomplished by the Board of Directors and Committees. Board Members, Committee Co-Chairs, and Committee members were recognized for their hard work and dedication and outgoing Chairs, Judy Brown, FASPR and Mike Griffin, FASPR were presented with Outstanding Service Awards for their many years of dedicated service to ASPR on the Journal and Fellowship Committees respectively.

Mike Griffin
Mike Griffin, FASPR, accepts his Outstanding Achievement Award
Judy Brown
Judy Brown, FASPR, accepts her Outstanding Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Tim Skinner, DASPR. Tim has served in numerous roles within ASPR since its inception. Tim is retiring after more than 30 years in physician recruitment. The first annual Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Marci Jackson, FASPR. Marci has served in many leadership roles within ASPR and is currently the Co-Chair of the Fellowship Committee. Twenty-seven newly certified Fellows were also recognized for accomplishing the highest designation available within ASPR. And last, but not least, ASPR Corporate Contributors were also presented plaques to recognize them for the support that they provide to our association.

Tim Skinner
A photo slideshow of Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Tim Skinner, produced by Paula Alter and Laura Screeney.
Marci Jackson
Marci Jackson, FASPR, winner of the Volunteer of the Year Award

Tuesday also included three tracks of breakout topics with nine topics for attendees to choose from. These ranged from Behavioral Interviewing to Hospital and Physician Relationships in the Health Reform Era.

The day concluded with a fun filled social event attended by more than 500 members and vendors at Jennifer Lopez, Jimmy Smits and’s The Conga Room where the attendees enjoyed a Salsa performance by Rogelio Moreno and his dance team Salsabor Y Cacheas. Many took advantage of salsa lessons as well!

Rogelio Moreno and his dance team Salsabor Y Cacheas
Rogelio Moreno and his dance team Salsabor Y Cacheas
Conga Room
Many attendees to the Tuesday Night Event took advantage of the Salsa dancing lessons

The third and final day of the Conference was kicked off with healthcare humorist, David Glickman. David’s hysterical look at the world of physician recruiting was a welcomed break from the serious work we do on a daily basis. David, a nationally known comedian blended stories about health care and physician recruitment through the use of props, songs and visuals to show that we can all use the opportunity to laugh.

After David’s hilarious performance, attendees had a choice to attend one of two more in depth sessions. These sessions, which included onboarding and social media, took a closer and more interactive approach to two of the hottest topics in our industry. The onboarding session provided key resources to launch and enhance onboarding strategies and promote an onboarding program’s value. The social media presentation offered live social media interactions, demonstrations, tips, and tools on how to engage and recruit physicians via social media.

An enormous thank you goes out to the ASPR Education Committee Co-Chairs, Joelle, Hennesey, from Manatee Health System (Bradenton, FL) and Allen Kram, from HealthQuest (LaGrangeville, NY) and for orchestrating such an amazing conference! A huge thank you also goes out to the entire Education Committee including Deborah Akins, FASPR, Robin Schiffer, DASPR, Scott Manning, FASPR, Jennifer Barber, DASPR, Debbie Gleason, FASPR, Angela Jamison, Lauren Beckstrom, DASPR, Judy Brown, FASPR, Marci Jackson, FASPR, Anita Mitchell, Carol Rash, Melody Roccaforte, Niki Conforti, Vicki Finnell, Emily Glaccum, FASPR. The teamwork of this amazing group of people is greatly appreciated by all who attended the conference! Thank you!

Mark your calendars for the 2013 ASPR Annual Conference which will be held August 10-14, 2013 at the Marriott Starr Passin Tucson, AZ. We hope to see you in Tucson!

© 2018 Association of Staff Physician Recruiters (ASPR). All rights reserved.
Per standard by the Payment Card Industry, ASPR has met the requirements of the Payment Card Industry-Data Security Standards
(PCI-DSS). To view our compliance certificate, click here. Credit card processing on this website is secure and processed by Plug'N
Pay, which meets credit card industry standards. When you are requested to enter your credit card information, you will be taken
to a secure page.

This website is optimized for Firefox and Chrome. If you have difficulties using this site, see complete browser details.